Posted on

Vinyl? Check! Archives from Bamalovesoul.com

http://bamalovesoul.com/category/bls-features/vinyl-check/

Vinyl? Check! #60: Third World – You’re Playing Us Too Close (produced, arranged and featuring Stevie Wonder)

   

 

I knew that Stevie Wonder wrote the reggae tinged Master Blaster (Jammin’) in 1980 as an homage to Bob Marley, but I had no idea that he got down with Third World too! I found this copy of their 1982 You’ve Got The Power album which features 2 cuts produced and arranged by Stevie. I’m really loving You’re Playing Us Too Close which features Stevie on Fender Rhodes and synthesizer.

Vinyl? Check! #59: Donny Hathaway – Valdez (Live at Newport)

   

 

Unfortunately I’ll never have the opportunity to hear Donny perform, but thankfully a recent record digging trip helped me to uncover some of his live musical magic. These Songs For You Live has a version of one of my favorite tunes,  Valdez in the Country, but this version recorded in New York in 1973 is jazzier and funkier.

 

Vinyl? Check! #58: Weldon Irvine – I Love You

Vinyl? Check! #57: Lionel Hampton – But Beautiful

   

Still diggin through my Record Show haul and I ran across this aptly named Lionel Hampton gem from his 1959 Golden Vibes album. Perfect for awesome days like today when you can open your window wide and let the sun’s rays parade alongside the soothing sound all around the room.

   

 

Two weeks ago I pulled out my Weldon Irvine albums and decided to share this Don Blackman written piece. With both Weldon and Blackman on keys and Don lending his unique voice to the track, I Love You just sounds perfect on a sunny Sunday.

